Get ready for The Block Fans v Faves

Here we go again – The Block is back and guess what, this time it’s bigger and better than ever before!! Don’t they say that every series?? 🙂 Actually, this time it could be true because for the FIRST TIME in Block history (sorry, I’ll stop now) the contestants will have to build their apartment FROM THE GROUND UP!

The Block


Rumoured site of The Block, located in Albert Park VIC

Rumoured site of The Block, located in Albert Park VIC


Starting with just the shell of an empty warehouse (the producers must have done a fair amount of demolition work to the building if this is really it), the couples will have to plan and design four luxury apartments ready for sale at the end of the series – which is interesting, given there seem to be six couples competing? Regardless, it will be very interesting to see how this added complexity affects the couples and their ability to deliver homes worthy of the big bucks paid on auction day.

In yet another twist, this year sees the return of two sets of Block veterans – last year’s winning team of twins Alisa and Lysandra, and the new “power couple” Brad (a previous winner with girlfriend Laura) and Dale (half of team Dale and Sophie). Perhaps the Faves will actually end up mentoring the other teams? Or maybe there’ll be an early elimination of two of the fan teams? Oooh, the intrigue!

According to Darren Palmer, one of three returning judges this year, “The building itself gives opportunities that no one has ever had. They get to create something from scratch, from a clean slate. They have a blank canvas where they can do whatever they want!”

Let’s hope the judges are true to their word and we actually see four very individual homes emerge – last season started to feel a bit “samey” towards the end. Take a look back at my overview of the last series and critique of the finished apartments of each team here:

Alisa & Lysandra

Matt & Kim

Bec & George

Madi & Jarrod

Trixie & Johnno

So get excited Blockheads – tune in to Channel 9 from 7.30pm (AEDT) on Monday 27 January for all the action.